Merry Monday: Quotes

 

Merry Monday is  an ongoing project where each week I find one thing that makes life a little, well, more merry. It can be any little commonplace thing that is anywhere from kind of cool to outright marvelous. Please share the merry! Add your Merry Monday delight in the comments below or blog about it and share a link (if you blog it or use the graphic, I’d appreciate a link back to here in your post too).

MerryMonday

 

By the time a year of Mondays has passed, my bet is that a scary lot of these are going to be related to the Internet. Guess that’s a side effect of being a gen x cyberpunk back in the day. Neuromancer is still one of my favorite books, but that can be a post on another day. Today my mind is on quotes. Luv a good quote. So, naturally, I’m particularly fond of websites that aggregate quotes with whatever degree of accuracy in their attributions. I don’t want to spread around bad attributions, saying something came from some famous person when it really didn’t. http://www.quoteinvestigator.com seems like a thoughtful, reasonable resource for that kind of thing. Brainyquote.com is a wealth of quotes, some good, some trivial fluff, some as picture memes. Wikiquote, goodreads, and thinkexist.com are loaded with quote treasures too.

“Those who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do” – Isaac Asimov

One of the biggest assets of these sites (besides the easy search ability) is the collective-ness. Nobody knows everything. While one person may not be the worlds expert on one thing…lots of other people are. SOMEbody is going to have something helpful to say about whatever is on your mind. Quote sites have all of written human history to use,  from Socrates to Carrot Top – and yes, I tend to prefer the latter.

“I only made this letter longer because I have not had time to make it shorter” – Blaise Pascal

The best part of any quote is the pith. That is why I love haiku (but that’s for another post, too). Short, potent language is the pinnacle of communication. A good quote (or poem, or haiku) is  a quivering, clear, rainbow-filled, diamond dew-drop of distilled essence of human intellect and spirit. And you can quote me on that.

“I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened” – author unknown

Like an apple, a nap, or a little exercise, a little quote-reading can only do good. They too are a source of re-framing thoughts, so quotes fit right in with the premise of “Merry Monday” and “#PeaceTarot”: If you do something to deliberately nudge your day toward a better outlook, it will become a habit. If you nourish and nudge optimism, it will be there fast and handy when you need it. Same thing happens with negativity. You can focus on worries that might never happen, or you can focus on all the good stuff that could easily come to be.  The thing you practice the most is what you do best, and what comes to you the quickest in a crisis.

“I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times” – Bruce Lee

Wishing you good quotes and thought-kick-practice this Merry springtime Monday

